Why I Don’t Root for the Yanks…

Let me begin by saying this:  the sport is greater than the teams.  When you get to know a team, that’s when you like them more than other teams.

Just to get this straight, I am a Rangers fan through and through.  However, if the Rangers aren’t in it, I do like other teams.  Last year I was torn between the Red Sox and Tampa—I liked both of them a lot.

I especially liked the 2004 World Series win by the Red Sox.  The 7 game ALCS series against the Yankees might be the best sports series I’ll ever witness, or at least the best comeback series.  I guess I just root for the Yankees to have some competition in the east.  I’m not a Yankees “hater”, it’s just that I’m not from there and they currently have 26 championships while the next closest team, the Cardinals, only have 10.  Again, according to espn.com, the Yankees’ team payroll is about 208 million dollars while the next closest team, the Mets, is more than 60 million behind them.  Yankee fans are everywhere, and I think it’s due to them winning so often and how they get considerably more media coverage than most other teams, even when they’re losing.

True, they haven’t won the World Series in 9 years (2000) and they didn’t make the playoffs last year, which was the first time in 13 years they didn’t make it.  But it’s only a matter of time before they win again.  I don’t think it’s right to get upset about them winning.  My reasoning for not going for them is because I like to see other teams enjoy victory, especially teams that haven’t won it all yet.  The Yankees have knocked the Rangers out of the playoffs all 3 times they’ve been there.  Essentially, I like going for the underdog, I like seeing a team beating the odds and playing with heart.  It’s hard for me to root for the Yankees when they’re the favorites year in and year out, when they have a lineup that is ridiculously stacked, when they haven’t been through an 86 year drought like the Red Sox went through.  In the 2004 ALCS, Pedro was faced with the chant “Who’s your daddy?” from Yankee fans.  I just think that’s over the line.  It turned out that David Ortiz was their daddy anyways.   It also doesn’t help that I’ve lived with someone who was a Yankee fan, and his ego and argumentativeness were a little much for me.  (I also don’t like how they can’t grow beards—I  think that should be up to the player.)

To end this on a brighter note, there are a few things I do like about them.  Mariano Rivera.  He’s incredible.  Because of him, I have a greater respect    for the closer role, and it is just fun to watch him come through time after time and shut down the world’s best hitters.

bernie-williams

good ole bernie...

Bernie Williams.  I liked his playing style—he hustled, he knew how to hit, and he came through in the clutch.  I like how Nick Swisher looks to the sky before every at bat in remembrance of his grandfather.  Also, it was hard NOT to cheer for the Yankees after the 9/11 tragedy.  I would have liked to see New York win the Series that year, but it was good that they made it and it was a great series anyways.  I don’t have anything against Girardi or Torre.  Not a big fan of the Steinbrenners though…

This entry was posted in Baseball, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

